top of page

Your Inner Room


So now, I'm officially convicted.

I'm reading through Matthew 6, noticing Jesus' use of the word hypocrite. Seeing that word used for some who will give to the poor in order to be honored by men, I know in my heart that He's not talking about me. I intentionally don't let others know how much I give (sometimes even my own husband, much to his chagrin when paying our bills...thankfully, he always supports my heart).

But Jesus uses the word hypocrite three times in this chapter, and it's the second one that nailed me. Jesus says we're hypocrites when our inner room prayers are nothing more than meaningless repetition.

Ouch.

Do you and I pray the same prayers day after day, and are they ever, well, meaningless? Are they anything like the prayers the apostle Paul prays in Ephesians 1 and 3? Do I pray that my heart-eyes will be enlightened? Do I pray to know the hope of our calling, the riches of the glory of His inheritance, and the surpassing greatness of God's power in me? Do I bow my knees to the Father (stop there!), and ask to be strengthened with power through His Holy Spirit, so that Christ will dwell in my heart through faith,... (I could go on and on, but I'll leave the conviction to the Holy Spirit, and the challenge of finding these beautiful prayers to you and your own study of God's word).

Let's change our inner-room prayers today, shall we? I like to go to David's soul-Psalms and read through his words (and then I use them myself!), because, let's face it, no can beat a man after God's own heart prayer. I don't want to be a hypocrite. I don't want to be like them (Matthew 6:8), because, like Jesus says, my Father knows.

Slip into your inner room-that place reserved only for you and God, take your heart and soul words, and talk to your Father. He knows what you need, and what you need most is just Him.

You Might Also Like:
bottom of page